Thursday, July 25, 2013

Joel RL Phelps & the Downer Trio Announce First New Album Since 2004

It's been years since former Silkworm guitarist/vocalist Joel RL Phelps issued an album with his Downer Trio, but the band are set to make their long-awaited return this fall with a new album called Gala. Triple Crown Audio slides the album into stores September 17.

A press release notes that Gala reunites the Vancouver-based Phelps with guitarist/bassist Robert Mercer and drummer William Herzog, marking their first LP together since 2004's Customs. The album was recorded by Troy Glessner (Propagandhi, Damien Jurado, Pedro the Lion) and reportedly features 12 new tracks that "weave between humbled introspection and fractured, distorted guitars." 

You can sample the fuzz-saturated folk rocker "Thank You and Goodnight" in all of its ragged glory down below.

Phelps takes the stage at Vancouver's Astoria this Sunday (July 28) with Zebra Hunt and Womankind, the latter featuring sometimes Downer Quartet member Scott Malin.


1. The Nashville Sound
2. The Great Falls
3. So You've Decided
4. Blinding Light
5. Hold Fast
6. Gala
7. Goldentown
8. University Gal
9. Exiting The Garden
10. Wind On Her Face
11. Thank You And Goodnight

No comments:

Post a Comment