Monday, February 22, 2016

Kim Gordon's new band Glitterbust announce new album, share single 'The Highline'

Kim Gordon has confirmed details of her new band Glitterbust, a collaboration with Alex Knost of Tomorrows Tulips.
The former Sonic Youth member and Knost will released their self-titled, five-track album on March 4 on Burger Records.

They've also shared the project's first single, titled 'The Highline', which features on their new record. You can listen to the track via Pitchfork here.


Songs 'Soft Landing', 'Repetitive Differ', 'Erotic Resume' and 'Nude Economics' also feature on Glitterbust's new record.
The news comes after Gordon released her memoir, 'Girl in a Band', in early 2015, four years after splitting from husband and fellow Sonic Youth founder Thurston Moore.

They were married for 27-years, with the group dissolving soon after their split.

In her memoirs, Gordon described Moore's "rock star showboating", stating "We had exchanged maybe fifteen words all week. After 27 years of marriage, things had fallen apart between us."

Gordon added: "Thurston double-slapped our bass guitarist Mark Ibold on the shoulder and looked across the stage, followed by Lee Ranaldo our guitarist and Steve Shelley our drummer. I found that gesture so phoney, so childish, and such a fantasy.

"Thurston has many acquaintances but with the few male friends he had, he never spoke of anything personal. He's never been the shoulder slapping type. It was a gesture that called out, 'I'm back. I'm free. I'm solo.'"

As well as performing with Sonic Youth, she also performed with Bill Nace on Body/Head, with the pair releasing their debut album 'Coming Apart' in 2013.

No comments:

Post a Comment