Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Listening to super dark music feels pretty damn good now

San Francisco noise rock scoundrels The Tunnel have been perfecting their unique blend of haunted post-punk and swampy atmospherics since 2008. Crooked and restless, The Tunnel’s discography draws apt comparisons to The Jesus Lizard, 16 Horsepower, Killing Joke, and The Birthday Party – an intoxicating mixture of outlaw ballads, cranky drum machines, sprawling sci-fi blues, and pummeling, angular deathrock.

Sam Black and Jeff Wagner have served as the black heart of the band since 2010, with Black handling bass/electronics and Wagner howling haunted prose and heaving guitar tones. Drummer Michael Jacobs (ex-pOrch) has transformed the rhythm section with his brawny dynamics since joining in 2018.

2018-19 saw the band digitally releasing three EPs recorded by Phil Manley (Trans Am, The Fucking Champs), Tim Green (The Fucking Champs, Nation of Ulysses), and Jai Young Kim (Nik Turner’s Hawkwind, Secret Chiefs 3).

The band’s latest full-length, Shapeshifter is an 8-song gatefold LP / digipak CD compiling the 2018-19 digital EPs, and is being released on Denver’s Forbidden Place Records (currently in pre-order Spring 2020), with different limited color vinyl editions for US and Europe.

Another new batch of Tunnel songs recorded with Tim Green are being released in Spring and Summer 2020 – a split single “Candy Viper” b/w “Radiator” with Oakland, CA postpunk band Thought Leaders, to be digitally released on April 14 (vinyl 7″ planned for later 2020), as well as a 4-song “Nightfall EP” slated for digital release May 12.

No comments:

Post a Comment