Friday, September 29, 2023

Sarah Mary Chadwick - Messages To God - Album Out

"... a mighty impactful portrait of grief, recovery and vulnerability. Alternately bruising, funny and thought-provoking, it is a testament to one of the 21st century’s most powerful songwriters."
- The Line of Best Fit

"…few other singer-songwriters currently working can write with such gut-wrenching clarity."
- The Guardian

"...Sarah Mary Chadwick has a voice unlike anyone else. Her lyricism is brutal and raw, and her records are a wholly consuming affair. Chadwick is just as spellbinding live – it’s hard to look away."
- The Sydney Morning Herald

"...Sarah has songwriting down to a fine-tuned art. The precision with which she melds dynamic chord progressions with poetic lyricism – heart-wrenching in its vulnerability yet cut with moments of humour – shines particularly bright in her latest work..."
- Beat Magazine

", sparsely accompanied baroque-pop ballads that have maintained a certain disaffected introspection..."
- FLOOD Magazine

"...the Melbourne singer-songwriter’s music has grown dramatically in scope, encompassing rollicking country throw-downs, showtune-style ballads, and an immense, intense album..."
- Pitchfork

"...perhaps her most colorful and fascinating work yet."

"...a tender, teeth-smashing listen."
- Exclaim!

" being on the receiving end of a warm hug after the other team scores a miracle shot in the final second."
- +rcmndedlisten

"We’re lucky to have Sarah Mary Chadwick."

Messages To God is perhaps a more universal record in terms of its content than 2021’s Me and Ennui Are Friends, Baby, yet it is still unquestionably intimate. Like all of Chadwick’s music, the album is centered around her completely singular approach to songwriting and storytelling, delivering one of Chadwick’s most dynamic records to date.

New Zealand born, Melbourne-based Sarah Mary Chadwick is a gifted and singular songwriter, uniquely attuned to the minutiae of human emotion, not unlike Phil Eleverum’s work as Mount Eerie and Daniel Johnston’s adventures on tape. A multi-instrumentalist and vocalist, Chadwick’s songs are unsparing, brutal, and absolutely lovely. Eight records into her solo career, following the recent success of 2019’s The Queen Who Stole The Sky, 2020’s Please Daddy, and 2021’s Me and Ennui Are Friends, Baby, comes Messages To God, her first ever record made alongside award winning producer, Tony Epsie (oracle to The Avalanches).

>>>> Get your copy <<<<

No comments:

Post a Comment