Saturday, June 8, 2024

Beastie Boys Announce 30th Anniversary Ill Communication Vinyl Reissue

Beastie Boys’ classic 1994 album, Ill Communication, is getting a special deluxe edition reissue on vinyl to celebrate its 30th anniversary. The remastered 3xLP set resurrects a rare version of Ill Communication that was originally released as a limited run in 2009. It includes 12 bonus tracks—including rarities, a live version of Check your Head’s “The Maestro,” B-sides, and remixes—as well as lenticular cover art, a slipcase, and more. Beastie Boys are also releasing a limited-edition cassette version, marking the first time in decades that Ill Communication is available in that format. Check out the full tracklist below.

Last year, Beastie Boys reissued Hello, Nasty on vinyl for its 25th anniversary, tacking on an additional 21 bonus tracks to the original tracklist. Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz’s hardcore punk supergroup DFL also reissued their debut album, My Crazy Life, that same year.

Last year, New York’s Beastie Boys Square—the corner of Ludlow and Rivington Streets in the Lower East Side—was officially unveiled with help from Ad-Rock and Michael “Mike D” Diamond. The historic locale was once home to Paul’s Boutique, the namesake of Beastie Boys’ pivotal sophomore LP that came out in 1989. The eponymous shop was famously featured on the gatefold album cover.

Ill Communication:

01 Sure Shot
02 Tough Guy
03 B-Boys Makin’ With the Freak Freak
04 Bobo on the Corner
05 Root Down
06 Sabotage
07 Get It Together
08 Sabrosa
09 The Update
10 Futterman’s Rule

01 Alright Hear This
02 Eugene’s Lament
03 Flute Loop
04 Do It
05 Ricky’s Theme
06 Heart Attack Man
07 The Scoop
08 Shambala
09 Bodhisattva Vow
10 Transitions

01 Root Down (Free Zone Mix)
02 Resolution Time
03 Get It Together (Buck-Wild Remix)
04 Dope Little Song
05 Sure Shot (European B-Boy Mix)
06 Heart Attack Man (Unplugged)
07 The Vibes
08 Atwater Basketball Association File No. 172-C
09 Heart Attack Man (Live)
10 The Maestro (Live)
11 Mullet Head
12 Sure Shot (European B-Boy Instrumental)

No comments:

Post a Comment